Electra and Other Plays

Descriere: Four seminal tragedies by the master Greek dramatist, in sparkling new translations
Of the more than one hundred plays Sophocles wrote over the course of his long life, only seven survive. This volume collects four of them, all newly translated. Electra portrays the grief of a young woman for her father, Agamemnon, who has been killed by her motheras lover. "Ajax" depicts the enigma of power and weakness vis-A vis the fall of the great hero. "Women of Trachis" dramatizes the tragic love and error of Heraclesas deserted wife, Deianeira; "Philoctetes" examines the conflict between physical force and moral strength.

  • Autori: Sophocles
  • Editura: Penguin Books
  • Anul aparitiei: 2008
  • ISBN: 9780140449785
  • Numar de pagini: 309
  • Categorie: Plays

Pret: 65,00 RON